The Tempest

The Tempest


Overview: Incidental music
Authorship: Healey Willan, Words by William Shakespeare
Composition Date: 1922
Scored for: Two part Chorus and String Quartet
Duration: N/A
Number of Pages: N/A
Notes about music: First performed June 1922, Hart House Theatre, Toronto, conducted by H. Willan. Overture and 15 cues and pieces. The score includes arrangements of Arne’s “Where the bee sucks,” part of which is used as the Overture, Purcell’s “Come unto these yellow sands” and “Flout ‘em and scout ‘em,” and Thomas Cooke’s “Honour, riches, marriage blessing.” It is assumed that all the other music was composed by H. Willan.
Holograph: NL of C. Set of string parts, 7 p. ea. Chorus part, 1 p. Copyist’s manuscript of other chorus parts.
Publication: N/A
Recordings: N/A
Video: N/A
Where to Purchase: N/A

return button Return to Catalog

  • Scored For: Two Part Chorus and String Quartet



Copyright © 2018 Healey Willan Society. All rights reserved.